Child pages
  • Shared Files
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

The Shared Files option provides an area of the ERW repository which can be used to share data and files with other ERW Users and User Groups, and where you can access files which have been shared by others.

You can

  1. Open/View a File
  2. Copy/Move Files from your My Files area into the Shared Files area
  3. Copy/Move Files from the Shared Files area into the My Files area
  4. Manage Permissions for Shared Items
  5. Create Folders 
  6. Delete Shared Content

To access the Shared Files area, select the Shared Files option from the Menu Bar, as highlighted below:-

the following screen is displayed..

The Shared Files section, highlighted on the left, displays the folder structure for all folders which are available to you (i.e. which have been shared with you or which you have shared).   This can be expanded, by clicking on each folder, which will display any subfolders in the structure.

The main folder area (highlighted above) will display any files or folders which are available to you (i.e. which have been shared with you or which you have shared).


Open/View a File

Click on the document name as highlighted below:-  

If the file is of a common format, e.g. text, image, etc., the file will be opened for viewing within the native ERW (Alfresco) viewer as shown below :-   Note: common file extensions are usually recognised by the viewer to enable it to render the document correctly, see file types that are supported natively for more information.

to navigate back to the Shared Files area, select the Shared Files folder in the top left part of the screen. 

As well as viewing the file, from this screen you can (assuming you have the appropriate file access rights)

  • Download the file (the file will be downloaded to your default browser download location, where all your internet downloads are stored)
  • Edit the file, by selecting the Inline Edit option
  • Copy/Move the file to another location in the ERW (see below)

Back to Top

Copy/Move Files from the Shared Files area into the My Files area

The following guidance works in a similar fashion for both copy and move.  Note: when copying, if a file of the same name already exists in the target location, the file will be copied to the selected folder with a 'Copy of' prefix appended; when moving, if a file of the same name already exists in the selected folder, the file cannot be moved.

If you move shared content from the Shared Files area,  it will no longer be available to other ERW users to whom it was shared.  If you do not have the appropriate right to move a shared file, the option to Move to will not made be available to you.

Hover over the file that you wish to copy/move, and select Copy to (or Move to) from the right hand menu as shown below:-  Note: you may need to select More... to reveal the Copy to/Move to option.

The Copy My File to.. box appears..

as highlighted above:-

Select My Files from the left hand side

Select the folder  in the right hand side

Click the Copy (or Move) option, the file is then copied to the selected folder.  Note: if a file of the same name already exists, the file will be copied to the folder within a 'Copy of' prefix appended.

Back to Top  

Copy/Move Files from your My Files area into the Shared Files area

The following guidance works in a similar fashion for both copy and move.  Note: when copying, if a file of the same name already exists in the target location, the file will be copied to the selected folder with a 'Copy of' prefix appended; when moving, if a file of the same name already exists in the selected folder, the file cannot be moved.

Copy/Move File to Shared Area (i.e. share it)

Note:  When you copy/move a file to the Shared Area it will inherit the permissions of the folder that it is copied/moved into, e.g. if it is copied/moved directly to the Shared Files folder it will be shared to EVERYONE.  To change this, see the guidance  altering the permissions for the shared files.

Hover over the file that you wish to copy/move, and select Copy to (or Move to) from the right hand menu as shown below:-  Note: you may need to select More... to reveal the Copy to/Move to option).

 

The Copy My File to.. box appears..

as highlighted above :-

Select Shared Files from the left hand side

Select the folder  in the right hand side

Click the Copy (or Move) option, the file is then copied to the shared folder.  Note: if a file of the same name already exists, the file will be copied to the folder within a 'Copy of' prefix appended.

Back to Top  

Manage Permissions for Shared Items

See guidance for sharing and managing permissions for shared content. 

Back to Top  

Creating Folders

Note:  When you create a folder in the Shared Area it will inherit the permissions of the folder that it is created in, e.g. if it is created directly under the Shared Files folder. it will be shared to EVERYONE.  To change this, see the guidance  altering the permissions for the shared files.

Select the + Create... dropdown and select Folder; the following screen appears:-

Enter a name for your folder and click Save.  The new folder is now created and added to the structure.

Back to Top  

Deleting Shared Content (Assuming you have the appropriate file access rights)

If you delete shared content it will no longer be available to other ERW users to whom it was shared.  If you do not have the appropriate right to delete a shared file, the option to Delete Document will not made be available to you.

1. Single File

Hover over the file that you wish to delete, and select Delete Document from the right hand menu as shown below:-  Note: you may need to select More... to reveal the Delete Document option.

The Delete Document box appears..

Click Delete to confirm deletion of the file.

2. Multiple Files

To delete multiple files at once..

Tick the checkbox for each of the files you want to delete, to the left of the file, as highlighted below:-

Select the Delete option from the Selected Items... drop-down

The Confirm Multiple Delete box appears..

Click Delete to confirm the deletion of the files.

Back to Top  


 

 

  • No labels

4 Comments

  1. Ditto comment on My Files, wrt links to the respective sub-sections on this page.

    Ditto all other comments in My Files too!

    To navigate back to the Shared Files area, select the Shared Files folder in the top left part of the screen. (note comma)

     

     

  2. Anonymous

    As it's so similar, does it need to be a separate page?  Would it be better to split pages between open/view, copy/move, etc and then just explain any differences between My Files and Shared Files?

    What are the implications to "sharees" if you move/delete files?  Is this worth documenting here?

    Barbara

    1. Anonymous

  3. Anonymous